Local Offices for Election in 2020

Incumbents running unopposed in general election, except where noted:

County Commissioner Precinct 1Jeff Whitmire
County Commissioner Precinct 3Phyllis James
15th Judicial District Judge James (Jim) P. Fallon, Term Ends: 12-31-2020
59th Judicial District Judge Larry Phillips
Sheriff Tom Watt
Tax Assessor-Collector Bruce Stidham
Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, Larry AthertonOffice moves to GC courthouse
Constables for Precincts 1, 2, 3, and 4Tommy CarterMichael PutmanTodd BooherBob Douglas

Note: Gwen (Tiki) Braxton is running for Constable in Precinct 2.
Grayson County Democratic Party

Texas House of Representative, District 62, Rep. Reggie Smith

Democrat Gary Thomas is running against Smith in this race!

U.S. House of Representatives, District 4, Rep. John Ratcliffe

Democrat Russell Foster is challenging Ratcliffe in this race.

State Board of Education, District 9
Keven Ellis, a Republican from Lufkin, serves as the District 9 representative on the SBOE. He was elected to a four-year term on Nov. 8, 2016 and represents 31 Northeast Texas counties.

Note: Brenda Davis of Bonham is opposing Keven Ellis in the 2020 election.

Ellis is a member of the board’s Committee on School Initiatives, which oversees agenda items on topics such as charter schools, State Board for Educator Certification rules and school board member training.

SBOE District 9 includes 31 Northeast Texas counties:
Anderson, Angelina, Bowie, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Delta, Fannin, Franklin, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins, Hunt, Kaufman, Lamar, Marion, Morris, Nacogdoches, Panola, Rains, Red River, Rockwall, Rusk, Shelby, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood.

Grayson County Democratic Party Sherman Texas

Grayson County Democratic Party